untitled

I feel like I have to explain myself. Not to you, not to my friends, or anyone in particular, but to me. I feel like I have to give myself permission to do this because it so strongly goes against the grain.

Do I have a plan? Yes, I’ve got a SuperPlan.

Do I want to keep spending my time the same way as the last eight years? No, not entirely.

Do I want to work in order to fund the important things? Nope.

Do I actually have enough money? Yes.

Done. Complete. Questions answered. Problem solved. I’m resigning. My time will be my own, and damn does that feel good.

Hazel Grace hit the nail on the head when she said,

There will come a time when all of us are dead. All of us.

There will come a time when there are no human beings

remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that

our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to

remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you.

Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought

and discovered will be forgotten and all of this will have

been for naught. Maybe that time is coming soon and

maybe it is millions of years away, but even if we survive

the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever. There

was a time before organisms experienced consciousness,

and there will be time after. And if the inevitability of

human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it.

God knows that’s what everyone else does. (Green, 2012)

While not the inspiration for this blog, The Fault in Our Stars is a fantastic book that I read recently. Your library probably has a copy just like mine.

So why shouldn’t I pursue early retirement? If it doesn’t matter, why stick with the job if you aren’t satisfied? If time is such a limited resource, why on earth would I give any away so voluntarily?

So this is it. This is the beginning of my journey of Financial Independence and Early Retirement, and I can’t wait for it to get started.

Leave a Reply

