Options

Well, I’m back in the US. Eight years of doing this job has left me well off financially, but it’s taken it’s toll. I’m ready for a break!

I’m taking a ton of PTO – March through mid May – to unwind, visit family, and attend a wedding. After that it would be back to the same old grind, only this time with a crap-tastic commute. Or not.

It’s March of 2016 and I’m turning 30 years old in a very good position: I’ve got a million invested, I’m at an ideal weight and in relatively good physical fitness, and I have choices. I don’t really want to have that insane commute, so let’s explore some options.

 

Option #1 – Initiate the SuperPlan

Quit the job and consider myself FIRE’d. This option is the most ballsy, yet has a statistically high success rate. In accordance with the SuperPlan, I’d work through the fall and resign in December. This sounds good, but I’m having a hard time not investing the $50k cash buffer for years 1-5. That same $50k, if invested, could pay me $1k per year, every year in dividends alone if the yield remains around 2%. Plus growth.

I could do a lot with $1,000. Plane tickets to see family. A season pass to go snowboarding. All kinds of things.

Also, I’m a little uncertain about kicking off early retirement in Salt Lake City. I dunno. Something about being so close to Former Employer.

 

Option #2 – The Gap Year

I could take a leave of absence for up to a year and test out early retirement. Basically have $15k in cash set aside, and turn on the dividend faucet to pay for the rest. This would do a few things:

  1. Further test my $2,500/month spend rate
  2. Get used to planning around the quarterly dividend & interest payments
  3. Allow me to jump back into work if SHTF, or I feel I miss the structured nature of a day job (yeah right).

 

Option #3 – Continue working the same job because I’m a big scaredy-cat.

Since the commute is outrageous, the only logical move forward in this career is to say f**k it and deploy once again. I’ve already calculated that another year gives me an additional $350 per month, forever, but it really isn’t the best option when I think back to how unhappy as I was most of the time during the last deployment. Besides, I think I have enough money, so going after more would be greedy.

There’s also a non-deployable position open here instructing the new hires. Maybe I’ll just do One More Year stateside and deal with the aforementioned commute.

Fear and greed. Such nasty things.

 

Option #4 – Coolworks.com

Coolworks.com is an awesome website that shows jobs postings for non-cubicle types. I often dream of being able to go snowboarding on a regular basis like I used to ten years ago, so I select “Ski Resort Jobs” and see what’s open at the moment.

For example, I could be a Gondola Operator at Telluride in Colorado. Operate a gondola for $14/hr for at least 20hrs per week and get a free season pass? That doesn’t sound too bad! I could even go full-time, four days a week and continue to pad that 401(k), get employer health insurance, and receive other benefits.

 

So what’s it gonna be? Time will tell. But for now, vacation!

7 thoughts on “Options

  1. I have often thought the Coolworks would be a great way to ease into FIRE as well! A little bit of income to help subsidize costs, you don’t have to worry about boredom with all of your newfound freedom in “retirement”, and a free season’s pass is certainly a big perk! Maybe you should do a combination. Works for another 6 months and bank as much as possible and then find a job at a ski resort.

    Like

  2. I got your request to see my PintSized blog. That was actually my old blog and hadn’t realized it was linking to it. I have fixed that link so you can see my current blog.

    Out of curiosity, what is the significance of Vermonter in your blog name? Do you have links to Vermont?

    Like

Leave a Reply

