Minimalism and FI, part one

There’s a popular saying in FIRE culture that says, “Retire to something, not from something”.

Fuuuuck that.

Honestly, I have no idea what I want to be doing in a year. Heck, I don’t even have plans for this week. I may go paragliding this afternoon, but it’s already 10:45 am and I’m only just about to make my second cup of coffee. In my underwear. I’m in no rush.

 

Minimalism and Financial Independence

 

An important aspect of my life is Minimalism. No, it’s not about having very few things, but about having things that truly add value to everyday life. The Minimalists write about this in a very inspiring way.

Oversimplified example: I just competed in my first paragliding competition, the Rat Race. They were selling merchandise and I eyed a spiffy hat with the Rat Race logo on it. I bought it for twelve bucks. About a day later, I realized that I don’t wear flat brim hats! Instead of keeping this memento on a shelf, I sold it on Facebook to a club member and even gave him the Rat Race glow in the dark frisbee that I managed to take home. It really didn’t serve a purpose if I wasn’t going to wear it (or throw the frisbee), and now I don’t have either cluttering up my space.

Aside from the material aspect, minimalism allows you to focus on what’s important as you discard the things in your life that aren’t. One of those things was my job. Being financially independent affords me the time to start focusing on those key aspects in life I want to improve.

I’ll dive into the first, and probably most important area, in part two.

Leave a Reply

